Update on the Fairfax Media Journalism Intern Selection Process 2011-12

17 Oct 2011

Fairfax Media editors have begun to make their intern selections for 2012.

The company's editorial development manager, Clive Lind, said the process of selecting interns was taking longer this year because of the demands on editors from the Rugby World Cup, other events and delays brought about by availability.

However, interviews were continuing and applicants were being advised by email as quickly as possible whether they would be required for interviews or, if they have been interviewed, another one at another publication or website, he said. Those who had not been contacted should consider that their applications were still being considered.

"Normally, we hope to conclude the selection process by the end of October but it might take a month or so longer this year because after the Rugby World Cup, the election campaign will put other pressures on editors and staff," he said.

It was important that all applicants apply for entry to their preferred journalism school regardless of the intern scheme.

For further information, please contact:

University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Jim Tully jim.tully@canterbury.ac.nz

Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin: Stu Oldham stu.oldham@aoraki.ac.nz

Massey University, Wellington: Dr Grant Hannis G.D.Hannis@massey.ac.nz;
James Hollings j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz or Alan Sansom A.M.Sansom@massey.ac.nz

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Head of school Charles Riddle
Charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz

AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Greg Treadwell g.treadwe@aut.ac.nz and Allan Lee (allan.lee@aut.ac.nz)

For further information, email clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz

Click here to download (PDF 93KB)