Interviews under way for Fairfax media Journalism Interns

08 Oct 2010

Editors of Fairfax Media publications and websites across the country have now begun interviewing prospective journalism interns.

The interviewing process will continue over the next month or so.

Fairfax Media editorial development manager Clive Lind said all applicants were being advised as quickly as possible about the status of their applications. Those who were not sought for interviews had been advised. Those who had not been so advised should regard their applications as still under consideration.

For a variety of reasons, including availability of all parties, determining who should be interviewed and arranging them took some time, but it was carried out as quickly as possible.

Lind thanked those who had been unsuccessful for applying and urged them to continue with a career in journalism because there would still be plenty of opportunities, even in Fairfax publications and websites. The Fairfax intern scheme could only take a comparative few interns each year and the selection process was rigorous. The standard of applicants again had again been very high.

All journalism schools are now seeking applications and he hoped all had applied. Further information is available from:
University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Jim Tully [jim.tully@canterbury.ac.nz]
Aoraki Polytechnic, Timaru: Peter O'Neill [peter.oneill@aoraki.ac.nz]
Massey University, Wellington: Alan Sansom[A.M.Sansom@massey.ac.nz] or James Hollings [j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz]
Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Head of school Charles Riddle [charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz].
AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Head of school Martin Hirst [martin.hirst@aut.ac.nz]

They could also contact him at clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz

Click here to download (PDF 37.2KB)