Fairfax Media Journalism Tests Held Across the Country

29 Aug 2011

About 90 people sat Fairfax Media journalism intern tests at nine venues throughout the country on Saturday.

The tests, which consisted of 50 general knowledge questions, numeracy, spelling and grammar tests and two written exercises,  will now be marked, after which they will be assessed by Fairfax editors and candidates for interviews chosen.

Applicants will be updated as the process continues over the next few weeks.

Fairfax Media editorial development manager Clive Lind thanked applicants for attending the test.

"We appreciate the time that people take out of their busy lives," he said.

It is hoped the process will be concluded and all interns chosen by mid-October.

In the meantime, he urged all applicants to apply to their preferred journalism schools.

Representatives of our participating journalism schools were:

University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Jim Tully [jim.tully@canterbury.ac.nz]

Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin: Stu Oldham [stu.oldham@aoraki.ac.nz]

Massey University, Wellington: Dr Grant Hannis [G.D.Hannis@massey.ac.nz]; James Hollings [j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz] or Alan Sansom [A.M.Sansom@massey.ac.nz]

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Head of school Charles Riddle [charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz].

AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Greg Treadwell [g.treadwe@aut.ac.nz] and Allan Lee [allan.lee@aut.ac.nz]

The answers of Saturday's tests are included in the full download of this press release.

All enquiries to Clive Lind, editorial development manager clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz.

Click here to download (PDF 43.5KB)