Fairfax Media Journalism Intern Tests 2011

15 Aug 2011

Applicants for this year's Fairfax Media journalism internships have now been advised whether they need to sit a two-hour test at venues throughout the country on Saturday, August 27.

Fairfax's editorial development manager, Clive Lind, said any applicant who had not been so advised should contact him at the email address below urgently.

About 90 young prospective journalists will sit the general knowledge, spelling and grammar, numeracy and writing test between 10am and 12 noon on August 27.

After that, test papers will be marked and papers sent to the mastheads or websites of the applicant's choice. Editors will then select those they wish to interview in conjunction with representatives of their selected journalism school

Among other things, the scheme offers participants:

  • The opportunity to study for a year at one of the participating institutions
  • Work experience during course holidays at one of Fairfax's publications;
  • Reimbursement of course fees to successful applicants
  • Employment with a Fairfax publication at the conclusion of the course.
  • On-going training and career development.

Fairfax owns nine daily newspapers including The Dominion Post and The Press, two national Sunday newspapers, the Stuff, BusinessDay and RugbyHeaven websites among others, a vast range of magazines, an editorial production centre, a magazine publishing business, and more than 50 community newspapers throughout the country.

Successful interns will undergo year-long training for a Diploma or Graduate Diploma in Journalism at Massey University, Wellington, the Auckland University of Technology (AUT) the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin, and the Waikato Institute of Technology, Hamilton. Where possible, successful applicants will be trained in the institution of their choice.

Lind also urged all applicants, whether they had been selected to undergo the test or not, to apply separately to their preferred journalism school.

Further information could be gathered from:

University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Jim Tully [jim.tully@canterbury.ac.nz]

Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin: Stu Oldham [stu.oldham@aoraki.ac.nz]

Massey University, Wellington: Dr Grant Hannis [G.D.Hannis@massey.ac.nz]; James Hollings [j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz] or Alan Sansom [A.M.Sansom@massey.ac.nz]

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Head of school Charles Riddle [charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz].

AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Greg Treadwell [g.treadwe@aut.ac.nz] and Allan Lee [allan.lee@aut.ac.nz]

All enquiries to Clive Lind, editorial development manager clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz.

Click here to download (PDF 29.2KB)