Fairfax Media Intern Search Reaching Interview Stage

22 Sep 2011

Fairfax Media editors are starting the process of interviewing selected prospects to become journalism interns.

Fairfax editorial development manager Clive Lind said marking of the tests undertaken throughout the country on August 27 had been completed and answers and writing analysed.

Those people who would not be required for interviews as interns had been advised, he said. Those who had not received any notice from Fairfax were still under consideration.

"It is something of a juggling act because people select four possible places of employment and if their first choice does not select them for an interview, we look at their other choices," he said. "This all takes time, and editors are busy people. The Rugby World Cup isn't helping much in that regard."

"Nevertheless, we do advise people what's happening as quickly as possible."

Interviews are usually conducted by editors and staff from their preferred journalism schools.

Among other things, the journalism intern scheme offers: 

  • The opportunity to study for a year at one of the participating institutions.
  • Work experience during course holidays at one of Fairfax's publications.
  • Reimbursement of course fees to successful applicants.
  • Employment with a Fairfax publication at the conclusion of the course.
  • On-going training and career development.

Fairfax owns nine daily newspapers including The Dominion Post and The Press, two national Sunday newspapers, the Stuff, BusinessDay and RugbyHeaven websites among others, a vast range of magazines, an editorial production centre, a magazine publishing business, and more than 50 community newspapers throughout the country.

All applicants, whether they had been selected to undergo the test or not, should apply separately to their preferred journalism school.

Further information can be gathered from:

University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Jim Tully jim.tully@canterbury.ac.nz

Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin: Stu Oldham stu.oldham@aoraki.ac.nz  

Massey University, Wellington: Dr Grant Hannis Hannis g.d.hannis@massey.ac.nz;
James Hollings j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz or Alan Sansom a.m.sansom@massey.ac.nz

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Head of school Charles Riddle Charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz

AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Greg Treadwell g.treadwe@aut.ac.nz and
Allan Lee Allan.lee@aut.ac.nz

For further intern information contact Clive Lind, Fairfax Media editorial development manager, clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz  or 027 246 7771.

Click here to download (PDF 102.4KB)