Advice for Fairfax Intern Applicants 2010-11

15 Sep 2010

Marking and analysis of tests held for Fairfax Media journalism internships have been completed, and editors are beginning to make their interview selections.

Editors would be considering the applications over the next couple of weeks, and interviews would be arranged as quickly as possible. Papers had been sent initially to editors at websites and newspapers named by the applicants as their first preference. Contact will be made directly with applicants, and interviews will be conducted with representatives of journalism schools nominated by applicants.

Editor selection follows the general knowledge, grammar and spelling, numeracy and writing tests on August 28, 2010.

As well, emails have been sent to those applicants who have not been successful to date.
Fairfax Media editorial development manager Clive Lind urged those not being considered for interviews to continue with a career in journalism because there would still be many opportunities, even in Fairfax publications and websites. The Fairfax intern scheme could take only a comparative few interns each year and the selection process was rigorous.

All journalism schools are now seeking applications. Further information would be available from:
University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Jim Tully [jim.tully@canterbury.ac.nz]
Aoraki Polytechnic, Timaru: Peter O'Neill [peter.oneill@aoraki.ac.nz]
Massey University, Wellington: Alan Sansom [A.M.Sansom@massey.ac.nz] or James Hollings [j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz]
Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Head of school Charles Riddle [charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz].
AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Head of school Martin Hirst [martin.hirst@aut.ac.nz]

Applicants with queries or wishing to determine the progress of their applications should contact him at clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz.

It was hoped to have the process completed by the end of October or sooner.

Click here to download (PDF 27.5KB)