news article

4 September 2012

Intern tests marked and assessments begin

General knowledge, numeracy, spelling and grammar and writing tests undertaken as part of the annual search for journalism interns to work at Fairfax mastheads, websites and specialist news bureaux have now been marked.

They will be further assessed this week and all those who sat would be advised by email this week whether they were still in the running for an internship, Fairfax editorial development manager Clive Lind said.

Interviews would take place as quickly as possible after that.

Papers are sent initially to the editors of websites or mastheads named as first preference by the prospective interns. Editors then decide who they wish to interview.

Information would continue to be placed on www.fairfaxmedia.co.nz and applicants were welcome to contact him at clive.lind@fairfaxmedia.co.nz.

In the meantime, he urged all applicants to apply to join their preferred journalism school immediately because they were or would be shortly seeking applications.

Representatives of participating journalism schools were:

University of Canterbury, Christchurch: Donald Matheson [donald.matheson@canterbury.ac.nz]

Aoraki Polytechnic, Dunedin:  Lea Jones  (lea.jones@aoraki.ac.nz]

Massey University, Wellington:  Grant Hannis (G.D.Hannis@massey.ac.nz; James Hollings [j.h.hollings@massey.ac.nz]

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec) Hamilton: Charles Riddle [charles.riddle@wintec.ac.nz].

AUT (Auckland University of Technology): Greg Treadwell (gregory.treadwe@aut.ac.nz) and Allan Lee (allan.lee@aut.ac.nz)

As well, other journalism schools welcome inquiries.

About Fairfax Media

Fairfax Media is an innovative, integrated multi-media business with strong brands across multiple platforms including newspapers, magazines and digital.

Fairfax Media has two national, nine daily and more than 60 community newspapers, 25+ magazines, and market leading website stuff.co.nz.

Click here to see the company's full portfolio of media brands.

 

For further information, please contact:

Fairfax Media Communications and Marketing Manager

Nicola Igusa

09 925 9817 or 027 704 7521

email media@fairfaxmedia.co.nz