Board of Directors

Board of Directors


  • Nick Falloon, Chairman

Mr Falloon was appointed Chairman of the Board in September 2015. Mr Falloon has had 30 years' experience in the media industry, 19 years working for the Packer owned media interests from 1982 until 2001. 

Mr Falloon served as Chief Executive Officer of Publishing and Broadcasting Limited (PBL) from 1998 to 2001 and before that as Chief Executive Officer of PBL Enterprises and Group Financial Director of PBL. The PBL experiences provided a strong background in television, pay TV, magazines, radio and digital industries. 

From 2002 Mr Falloon spent nine years as Executive Chairman and CEO of Ten Network Holdings. Mr Falloon holds a Bachelor of Management Studies (BMS) from Waikato University in New Zealand. 

  • Patrick Allaway

    Mr Allaway was appointed to the Board on 15 April 2016 and has had 30 years' experience in the global financial industry across capital markets, corporate advisory, derivatives, risk management, mergers and acquisitions, corporate and project finance, private equity and funds management. 

He commenced his career in investment banking with Citibank in New York, Sydney and London and with Swiss Bank Corporation in Zurich and London.

Since 2000 he has been Chairman and co-founder of Saltbush Capital Markets, a privately owned corporate advisory and funds management business. Mr Allaway is also a Non-Executive Director of Metcash Limited, Woolworths South Africa (WHL), David Jones and The Country Road Group. He has a Bachelor of Arts/Law from the University of Sydney. Mr Allaway is a former Non-Executive Director of Macquarie Goodman Group.

  • Jack Cowin

Mr Cowin is the Founder and Executive Chairman of Competitive Foods Australia, a business that has grown from a single food service outlet to one that employees more than 16,000 staff throughout Australia. Mr Cowin moved to Australia from Canada to establish his business.  In addition to operating 400 restaurants in Australia, the company operates five manufacturing facilities producing frozen value-added meat products as well as processing fresh vegetables. It exports to 29 countries. 

Mr Cowin is also Chairman and largest shareholder of Domino's Pizza Enterprises Ltd, a listed public company, and Director and largest shareholder of Bridgeclimb. 


  • Greg Hywood, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director

Mr Hywood was appointed to the Board of Directors in October 2010 and to the position of Chief Executive and Managing Director in February 2011. 

Mr Hywood has enjoyed a long career in the media and government. A Walkley Award winning journalist, he has held a number of senior management positions at Fairfax including Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of each of The Australian Financial Review, The Sydney Morning Herald/ Sun Herald and The Age. He also held the position of Group Publisher Fairfax magazines. He was Executive Director Policy and Cabinet in the Victorian Premier's Department between 2004 and 2006, and from 2006 to 2010 was Chief Executive of Tourism Victoria. 


  • Sandra McPhee AM

Ms McPhee was appointed to the Board of Directors on 26 February 2010. She is a Director of Kathmandu Limited, and the NSW Public Service Commission Advisory Board and Chairman of the St Vincent's Health Advisory Board. 

Her previous Directorships include AGL Energy Limited, Scentre Group (previously Westfield Retail Trust), Tourism Australia, Australia Post, Coles Group Limited, Perpetual Limited and SA Water. Prior to becoming a Non-Executive Director, Ms McPhee held senior executive positions in a range of consumer orientated industries including retail, tourism and aviation. 


  • James Millar AM

Mr Millar is the former Chief Executive Officer of Ernst & Young (EY) in the Oceania Region and was a Director on their Global Board. Mr Millar commenced his career in the Insolvency and Reconstruction practice at EY, conducting some of the largest corporate workouts of the early 1990's. He has qualifications in both business and accounting. 

Mr Millar is a Non-Executive Director of Mirvac Limited, Slater & Gordon and Macquarie Media Limited. He is Chairman of both the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation and Forestry Corporation of NSW. Mr Millar serves a number of charities where he is the Chairman of The Smith Family, and is a Trustee of the Australian Cancer Research Foundation and the Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation. He is a former Chairman of Fantastic Holdings Limited and The Smith Family and a former Director of Helloworld Limited.  


  • Linda Nicholls AO

Mrs Nicholls has more than 30 years' experience as a senior executive and company Director in Australia, New Zealand and the United States. She is currently the Chair of Japara Healthcare and a Director of Medibank Private Limited. 

Mrs Nicholls holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from Cornell University and a Masters of Business Administration from Harvard Business School, where she was formerly Trustee and Vice President of The Harvard Business School Alumni Board. 


  • Todd Sampson

Mr Sampson is a Non-Executive Director to the Board of Qantas Airways Limited. He has an MBA and has spent nearly 20 years working as a strategic advisor with a diverse range of expertise including marketing, communication, digital transformation, new media, reputational risk and corporate turnaround.

He is also a writer, producer and host on a number of TV shows including Gruen, The Project and the award-winning documentary Redesign My Brain. Outside of work, he enjoys mountaineering and has climbed unguided to the top of Mount Everest.



Audit and Risk Committee

  • Linda Nicholls AO (Chairperson) 
  • James Millar AM
  • Patrick Allaway

People and Culture Committee

  • Sandra McPhee AM (Chairperson)
  • Michael Anderson
  • Jack Cowin

Nominations Committee

  • James Millar AM
  • Linda Nicholls AO